Shower Thoughts: The Lotus Flower

Ok, this is going to be a meaningful one for me. The lotus flower has long been a symbol  that I hold close to my heart for several reasons.

Image

In the most basic of senses, it represents a symbol of my own personal growth and my ability to overcome the hardships that I have faced thus far in my journey. I wear a necklace with a small lotus flower charm around my neck each and every day to help me remember how strong I am and to remind me to be proud of the person I have become.

In fact, I discovered the lotus flower meaning while practicing yoga. In Buddhism, the lotus flower stands for purity, spiritual awakening, and faithfulness. Because the lotus flower is able to emerge from the murky waters and be perfectly clean, it is most importantly seen as a representation of rebirth. New beginnings. The lotus flower grows up through the dark and out into the light of the sun. It is a simple reminder of the incredible journey that can come from change. 

We should celebrate this. Grow and believe in it. 

Today while in the shower I did some reflecting on my day. We all know the serious conversations we have with ourselves while sudsin’ up, right? Or maybe I am the only one who is willing to admit the seriously pensive thoughts I have, revelations, and philosophical ideals I spitball while I shampoo and condition. Anyhow, I thought, “Wow, today was a wonderful day. I haven’t had a day quite as good as this in awhile.” 

And today was really a great day! From start to beginning. How often does that happen?! It’s not that everything went perfectly or that there weren’t things that could’ve made it even better, but instead the things that happened were really very needed.

I woke up early to grab coffee with one of my closet friends who I hadn’t seen all summer while she traveled abroad in China. While waiting in line for our coffees, I was surprised by a friend who I hadn’t seen in months who ended up joining us. I ended up spending the entire day with friends who made me feel loved and appreciated and truly missed. And people like that in life are essential. 

Truth be told, I have been down lately. I think it could be the stage in my life right now, growing up comes with its bumps and bruises. But to be honest, I have really been struggling with my own happiness lately. Today was the first time in several weeks that I was able to feel a pure, tangible kind of happy. A happiness that was my own. A happiness to be experienced in the moment- unexpected and simple. And it felt blissful. 

While in the shower tonight, I thought, “you’ve come a long way, Linds. You have learned a lot since last year. You have grown into someone you are proud of. You have felt love and heartache, true achievement and great loss. And you should be proud of yourself. No more self-deprecating. No more shrugging off the fact that you work your ass off to be a happy person when you wake up in the morning. Happiness is fleeting, so it’s important to enjoy it while it’s here.” 

Aren’t internal thoughts great! HAHAHA 😉 

It’s time that I cut off the past and allow for the rebirth to happen. I feel it coming and I’m ready to bask in the joy that comes from new beginnings. 

So here’s to new stones to be turned and coming out of the murky waters to become the beautiful people we desire to be. Be proud of who you are. Never hesitate to own the fact that you’ve learned things along the way. 

I’m ready to see things differently as school and the first semester of my junior year in college approach me. There is no looking back. 

Maybe I just needed to have a good day to remind me of all of this. I am thankful for all that I have experienced and all of the amazing people in my life that help me along the way. You all mean so much to me and I sometimes struggle with saying it. But I want my friends and family to know that I wouldn’t be the person I am proud to be today if it weren’t for each and everyone of you. 

Sweet dreams, 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

